Servers config. - Forum
Main | Registration | LoginTuesday, 2016-12-06, 6:56 PM
OpenArena
Clan-League 2010 website
Servers config. - ForumWelcome Guest | RSS
[ New messages · Members · Forum rules · Search · RSS ]
Page 1 of 3123»
Archive - read only
Forum » Informations Section » (organization archives) » Servers config.
Servers config.
DarkalDate: Wednesday, 2010-02-17, 1:41 PM | Message # 1
Administrator
Group: Administrators
Messages: 1261
Reputation: 18
I invite all server Admins to choose good config for all OA-CL servers. I suggest you to discuss about it here.

My first suggests :

1- Set CPMA mod with VQ3 motor.
2- Bright Skins ?
______________________
Don't forget :
/timelimit 20
/fraglimit 5 EDIT : I am so stupid... /capturelimit 5
/sv_maxclients 20
/sv_maxPing 220
______________________
Servers WILL NOT have any password, except when a match is playing (set password about 30min before the match).

• • •
I wonder if there will be 11 servers (sv_hostname OA-CL | XX GAME_MOD) :

- ^^33OA-CL ^^55| ^^1101 ^^77ALLWEAP
- ^^33OA-CL ^^55| ^^1102 ^^77ALLWEAP

=> 2 All Weapons Europa

- ^^33OA-CL ^^55| ^^1103 ^^77ALLWEAP
=> 1 All Weapons USA

- ^^33OA-CL ^^55| ^^1104 ^^77ROCKETS
- ^^33OA-CL ^^55| ^^1105 ^^77ROCKETS

=> 2 Only Rockets Europa

- ^^33OA-CL ^^55| ^^1106 ^^77ROCKETS
=> 1 Only Rockets USA

- ^^33OA-CL ^^55| ^^1107 ^^77INSTAGIB
- ^^33OA-CL ^^55| ^^1108 ^^77INSTAGIB

=> 2 Instagib Europa

- ^^33OA-CL ^^55| ^^1109 ^^77INSTAGIB
=> 1 Instagib USA

- ^^33OA-CL ^^55| ^^1110 ^^77ELIMINATION
=> 1 Elimination (CA) Europa

- ^^33OA-CL ^^55| ^^1111 ^^77ELIMINATION
=> 1 Elimination (CA) USA

 
MIOWDate: Friday, 2010-02-19, 4:12 PM | Message # 2
Administrator
Group: Administrators
Messages: 70
Reputation: 4
Quote (Darkal)
1- Set CPMA mod with VQ3 motor.

First, it would be nice to test if Europe vs. America games are playable with CPMA (with proper net settings ofc).
Second, to test what's better, CQ3 or VQ3 (maybe open vote about it).

Quote (Darkal)
2- Bright Skins ?

Brightskins are included in CPMA.


:: nyen :: IRC channel #nyen @ QuakeNet ::
 
GhostyDate: Saturday, 2010-02-20, 1:20 PM | Message # 3
Administrator
Group: Administrators
Messages: 94
Reputation: 1
ill take insta USA, if all weaps USA is not taken, ill take that too
 
DarkalDate: Wednesday, 2010-02-24, 11:10 AM | Message # 4
Administrator
Group: Administrators
Messages: 1261
Reputation: 18
Could you also open Elimination USA ??? happy
 
GhostyDate: Wednesday, 2010-02-24, 11:08 PM | Message # 5
Administrator
Group: Administrators
Messages: 94
Reputation: 1
sure, but one thing, i have a server prob that i dont have time to fix, (i can name anyone of my server with a mod CTF it has to be something else)
 
GhostyDate: Thursday, 2010-02-25, 4:39 AM | Message # 6
Administrator
Group: Administrators
Messages: 94
Reputation: 1
where do i find cpma, i've never personally used it
 
DarkalDate: Thursday, 2010-02-25, 11:55 AM | Message # 7
Administrator
Group: Administrators
Messages: 1261
Reputation: 18
I will give your e-mail adress to supeR,Grism. He will make an IRC meeting with servers admins and advisors.
 
MIOWDate: Thursday, 2010-02-25, 3:09 PM | Message # 8
Administrator
Group: Administrators
Messages: 70
Reputation: 4
http://www.promode.org/?p=578

You need to have all CPMA maps installed to run CPMA iirc.


:: nyen :: IRC channel #nyen @ QuakeNet ::
 
GhostyDate: Thursday, 2010-02-25, 5:14 PM | Message # 9
Administrator
Group: Administrators
Messages: 94
Reputation: 1
im sorry, what is iirc, and i have only run OA and Q3 servers, never done cpma. sooo a good PM with some instructions for the mod would be nice, all the rest of the stuff I can do fine myself.
 
MIOWDate: Thursday, 2010-02-25, 6:29 PM | Message # 10
Administrator
Group: Administrators
Messages: 70
Reputation: 4
iirc = if I remember correctly.

I never ran server myself, but you can find something in /cpma/docs/Server.txt

also davidd and jack_thompson have experience of running OA servers with CPMA.


:: nyen :: IRC channel #nyen @ QuakeNet ::
 
RMFDate: Thursday, 2010-02-25, 7:23 PM | Message # 11
General Moderator
Group: Moderators
Messages: 75
Reputation: 4
Quote (Ghosty)
i have only run OA and Q3 servers, never done cpma. sooo a good PM with some instructions for the mod would be nice, all the rest of the stuff I can do fine myself.

Download the cpma mod and maps (put them in one folder named cpma in ur appdata dir), and start a server with the argumen +set fs_game cpma
That's basicly setting it up, no idea howto configure everything :P

If not clear enough I can explain via pm better wink

Message edited by RMF - Thursday, 2010-02-25, 7:24 PM
 
GhostyDate: Sunday, 2010-03-21, 6:41 PM | Message # 12
Administrator
Group: Administrators
Messages: 94
Reputation: 1
i am currently using this to run a successful testing server for allweaps CTF
Attachments: server.cfg(5Kb)
 
DayiiDate: Monday, 2010-03-22, 5:24 PM | Message # 13
General Advisor
Group: Advisors
Messages: 17
Reputation: 1
Quote
/fraglimit 5

???


 
supergrismDate: Tuesday, 2010-03-23, 2:08 PM | Message # 14
Administrator
Group: Administrators
Messages: 165
Reputation: 5
Im making a first draft of a general servers configuration right now which can be used as a base for all servers, and customized to the needs (but normally there should be no need to, read below).

First, I would like to personally thank the people who helped me (a lot !) to find the right answers to the right questions :
* MIOW
* Jessicara
* PopeJo
* Daywalker (Dayii)
* Heap
* Any other I may have forgotten (sorry then…)

Here are the objectives and constraints this config will try to respect, and how I think I'll technically do :

- Be as fair as possible for everyone :
* Server-side physics (FPS-independant integrated in CPMA AND OA v0.8.5)
* CPMA anti projectile lag for a better delagging (particularly in matchs EU vs USA)
* CPMA super HUD editor so anyone can customize one's HUD with the full power of CPMA but without the need of any technical knowledge.

- Accessible to anyone (autodownload and client configuration)
* Only CPMA core mod (about 7 MB) is downloaded client-side except if you want to play a CPMA map.
* Server will be powered by OA v0.8.5 but OA v0.8.1 will be able to connect by autodownloading new content and after the clients will still be able to connect to v0.8.1 servers (thank's to the retrocompatibility).
* CPMA super HUD editor (look above for more infos).
* (maybe) a default CPMA client config will be auto downloaded (need to be discussed to see if really necessary when everyone can get the super hud editor).
* Auto map pool rotation, so players who want to train only have to connect, set gamemod and callvote next map to train on all maps of the league.

- Promote last OA version (v0.8.5)
* All servers will be powered by OA v0.8.5.
* The config will include most of the main objectives directly on OA (like FPS-independant physics), so games can even be played without CPMA if needed.
* Use the new OA features like the Killing Sprees.

- Easy servers setup
* One config for all.
* One map pack to put in baseoa.
* All the mods will be configured via CPMA modes feature (just need to callvote and load the right mode).

- Respect the OA spirit and gameplay
* No damage change.
* No fast weapon or double-jump or other "pro-features".
* No Promode physics, only VQ3 (can be easily changed in the config for future promode challenges, but in this league no callvote for promode will be allowed).

Note about CPMA super hud editor : it needs to be modified and recompiled to modify baseq3 to baseoa and quake3.exe to openarena.exe (the best would even to leave the choice to the user so other games based on Quake3 could use it). If someone can do it, it would be highly appreciated, else I will but I risk to be short on time for this week.

Ok that's all. Feel free if you have any question or comment to make about that.

/EDIT : One question : do you want the config to be opensource and available to everyone ? I think this would be great to make an opensource league for an opensource game…

Message edited by supergrism - Tuesday, 2010-03-23, 2:20 PM
 
DarkalDate: Tuesday, 2010-03-23, 3:59 PM | Message # 15
Administrator
Group: Administrators
Messages: 1261
Reputation: 18
Nice job my friend !

For OpenSource config, I think config could be really public (except rconpassword), but we don't have to change the config while the league progress.

BTW, rconpassword must to be "public" for all referees & staff.

I remind that there will not be any password on OA-CL servers, except during matches.

 
Forum » Informations Section » (organization archives) » Servers config.
Page 1 of 3123»
Search:


Copyright MyCorp © 2016
Powered by uCoz